skip to main content

Carbon Removal Strategies 2030

November 6, 2023, 11:00 – 12:30 PST

Carbon Removal Strategies 2030, the second installment of our Catalyzing Clean Energy 2030 series sponsored by Caltech and NosTerra, brings together key leaders in engineering, science, industry, and government to provide a wide audience with information, data, and inspiration on why and how to reach a 50% reduction in the emission of global warming gases (GWG) within the decade and a sustainable 1.5°C climate pathway for 2050.

The experts brought together for Carbon Removal Strategies 2030 will discuss the Carbon Dioxide Removal (CDR) and Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) landscapes — scientific, engineering, and economic — and how they can contribute to a clean energy transition and keep us on a path to less than 1.5°C of global warming. Key decisions need to be made about how to balance our energy systems: do we invest principally in electrification and alternative fuels or CDR and CCS-backed fossil fuel power plants? The newest technologies in carbon mitigation and the strategies needed to implement them will be discussed and debated at this second installment of the Catalyzing Clean Energy 2030 series, sponsored by Caltech in partnership with NosTerra.


Emily Carter, Princeton University
Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor in Energy and the Environment
Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Associate Laboratory Director for Applied Materials and Sustainability Sciences, Princeton Plasma Physics Lab

Julio Friedmann, Columbia University and Carbon Direct
Non-Resident Fellow, Center on Global Energy Policy at Columbia University, School of International and Public Affairs
Chief Scientist, Carbon Direct
CEO, Carbon Wrangler

Daniel P. Schrag, Harvard University
Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology
Professor of Environmental Science and Engineering
Director of the Harvard University Center for the Environment
Director of the Science, Technology, and Public Policy Program, Harvard Kennedy School

Jennifer Wilcox, U.S. Department of Energy
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary in the Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management


Harry A. Atwater, California Institute of Technology
Otis Booth Leadership Chair, Division of Engineering and Applied Science
Howard Hughes Professor of Applied Physics and Materials Science
Director, Liquid Sunlight Alliance
Co-Founder, Captura

Jess Adkins, California Institute of Technology
Smits Family Professor of Geochemistry and Global Environmental Science
Co-Founder, Calcarea

Dave Welch, NosTerra
CEO, NosTerra


California Institute of Technology, Division of Engineering and Applied Science + Resnick Sustainability Institute, Caltech + NosTerra